Reaching out to others: Deception in the Church?


I’m really typing here without plannig first, so I hope I make sense.

The last few days and weeks there has been lots of accusations against some of the pastors in the churches that I attend, as well as a renewed attack on some of the lecturers at the place I study.

I also have some infrequent chats with people on my other blog site about the so called “emergent” movement. And they refer me to all kinds of places that attacks the above-mentioned groups of people. (And here South Africans has really come onto the worldmap, as targets of attack!!)

I laid awake last night thinking why this is happening. Why do Christians attack other Christians. One of my pastors, Ds. Stephan Joubert, always says, “Why is it that the only community or group that fights with each other are the Christians?”

We talk to people who are not Christian, showing love, but doesn’t show the same love to our own brothers and sisters!!

My real reason for writing this came to me this morning. The question I asked myself was this: How do you reach people?

So, how do you reach people? By judging them? By ignoring them? Or do you love them? Do you accept them as people?

Is it possible for you to accept people as people?

Is it possible to start loving people and still judge them? How is that possible?

I know I have a dream of a Church (Body of Christ), who will go to the world with a message of love and acceptance.

But does my love and acceptance means that I am going to discard my believes? No way! But I am not willing to force my believes on someone! That is a sure way to break a realtionship and end any chance for me (or even any future Christian) to try and reach a person!

God so loved the WORLD… (not the saved) …that He sent His Son… Think about that the next time you stand ready to judge someone who might just do things different than you.

Fredz

9 thoughts on “Reaching out to others: Deception in the Church?

  1. Oh bla bla bla. Christians attacking Christians? LOL. People who speak lies and go against the Word of God are not Christians.

    Jesus rebuked such people over and over again. We do not judge you on your life but the WORD that come out of your mouths as you ATTACK the GOSPEL of JESUS.

    Pffff…love? You don’t know what that means.

    Come look at my blog, I am one of the ones that STAND up against your kind.

    • Why don’t you tell us what the meaning of love is then?

      “my kind”? What are “my kind”?
      I guess “my kind” is everyone who “attack the gospel of Jesus”?

      God doesn’t judge the outward appearance (I dare say that it includes the words we speak?), but looks at our hearts.

  2. i agree with. The purpose of the churh is to go out in the world. Make friends with sinners,love them and bring them into the Kingdom.

  3. Yes, your kind are those who attack the gospel of Jesus Christ.

    God does not judge your outward appearance. Where did I say He did. BUT He does judge your WORD. In fact the anti-gospel words that your speak judge you.

    You should know that what’s in your heart you speak. out your mouth.

    Read your bible properly, until then, stop preaching for you lead people atray with New Age Spiritualism. Cobus can attest to that, he has denied that Jesus Christ is God

Leave a Reply

